Nom nom noms for the weekend

by Mikelle S

So I’m not going to say this past weekend was the most eventful weekend I’ve had. It basically involved a lot of food and catching up on TV shows since that’s not a luxury I normally can enjoy.

I’ve been house sitting since Thursday and as such haven’t been feeling in the cooking mood – I’ve actually not been in that mood since high school – so for lunch on Friday I went to TakoSushi. Now this would be my second time checking out TakoSushi, the first being a meeting with a friend over at Garnet Life, so I was ready for a bit more of their amazing sushi. As we didn’t go during happy hour I couldn’t get the same deal I’d gotten before but I did get some sort of lunch box deal, pictured above.
A real food writer would at this point tell you the name of what they ordered and expound on ingredients but as I, alas, am just a blogger all I can really remember is that it was really good. I split half of my roll with the friend that I brought along – we both ordered rolls that the waitress recommended as the people’s favorite and the house favorite – and devoured his miso soup. It was a fairly large meal for lunch and caused me to actually almost – keyword being almost – skip dinner.

On Saturday there was Jason’s Deli – I had a hunger for a bit of fruit, and on a whim I decided to pop in for the first time. It was one of my lighter, healthier choices for the weekend which was great and really was only to tide me over until after the Night in Paris Hair Show.

The hair show was interesting. From my understanding it was a show done for charity and was also the first one the group had put on. I got to sit by Eb and Jai who are always great, and my favorite part – I think this was shared by all of us – was the last scene of the show performed to Madonna’s Vogue. If I remember correctly the three stylists who were involved in this part will be doing another, bigger hair show this upcoming Sunday.

Afterwards, Jai and I went to SakiTumi where I grabbed SakiMari – I love it – as well as a Cali roll with eel sauce. All credit goes to Crystal Garrett for the eel sauce tip, since I had it with her at Columbia Style Week, I’ve never looked back.

