SPRING: Jil Sander Womenswear 2011

by Mikelle S

Models: Yulia, Jac, Basia, Martha, Nimue
Label: Jil Sander
Collection: Spring/Summer 2011 Womenswear

You all know that the review never starts until you go under the clip so I’m not sure why you expect for me to lapse into it now. I have been feeling sort of bad though seeing as I’ve been lacking a little on posting but I’m just finding myself becoming very enraptured in the blogosphere again, particularly in the forums. I end up writing away there things that I should be writing here. I do still tweet though, regularly, and I find myself utilizing my Tumblr to sort of keep track of certain models and agencies. Also if I think things don’t warrant an entire post here, I’ll put them there. If you guys hold tight though we’ll get back into the swing of things. I do hope you’re enjoying the Model Mondays though. It is a bit of work on my part but I do love learning about agencies and the industry. With all that said though, let’s go ahead and get into the Jil Sander Spring/Summer 2011 Womenswear collection.

Models: Hanna Samokhina
Photographer: The Sartorialist
Label: Jil Sander
Collection: Spring/Summer 2011 Womenswear

Watching the Jil Sander Spring/Summer 2011 womenswear collection was like biting into a fresh juicy green apple after weeks of only fruit flavored gummies. Nice visual?? I’ve been working on it for a few seconds. That’s really the only way that I can explain it though. We’ve been seeing this minimalism but there’s an undercurrent with it. So many designers seem to want to move in different direction but feel as if at the end of the day we are still in an economic downturn and their garments should reflect that. This latest collection from Jil Sander seems to nod to the economic downturn while keeping it’s eyes on the optimistic future.
With a face bare except for a shock of pink(which was reflected in the soles of some of the heels), and hair pulled back into a bun, this collection seems to scream simplicity. While most were amazed by Raf’s concept to pair a simple t-shirt with the flare of an haute couture garment, I found myself staring at three layered jackets that seemed more streamlined than some sweaters. While I couldn’t help but notice pieces like the orange column(look 32) and pink cloud(look 34), I found myself drawn to a few of the more wearable looks(looks 22, 23, 24, 43, and 44). Even more than those the accessories, like the shades as well as bags were a hit to me.
The Jil Sander Spring/Summer 2011 collection was organic to me. It was sublime and organic. From the bags to the soles of the heels I found that the beauty was in the collection’s “loud silence.” Even the color detailing on the backs of the jackets, which was more than likely a holdover from the menswear which should be posted soon, caused me to pause.

Accessories Shot
Photographer: The Sartorialist
Label: Jil Sander
Collection: Spring/Summer 2011 Womenswear

Model: Iris Egbers
Photographer: Sonny
Label: Jil Sander
Collection: Spring/Summer 2011 Womenswear

See the rest of the collection in the galleries.
Opened: Kasia Wrobel
Closed: Daria Strokous

