Dressed to Depress

by Mikelle S

Model: Peter Bruder
Photographer: Markus Pritzi
Publication: Sleek Magazine

So I haven’t been around as often as I should, I know. I missed last week’s Model Monday and I also didn’t do the dance video. I’m not actually sure if I’m going to still do the dance video series but I do plan on getting back to the Model Mondays. The thing is I’ve been dipping in and out of this bout of depression and I felt that this editorial featuring Peter Bruder, styled by Isabelle Thiry and lensed by Markus Pritzi for Sleek Magazine, was the best way to segway into a blog for me to vent.


Well, I’m not really going to vent, although that is very much my style. I guess I just wanted to blog… do something a bit personal. I mean my personal life is sort of in the pits right now. LIke I said a while back, I was in a car accident and because of that I lost my job. My truck(which is now totaled) wasn’t completely paid off, but it will be in December and so I have to find a way to pay the other $550 that I owe on that, while not having a job. In addition to that I have a cell phone bill that runs me $30 bucks a month. I have all this to worry about and yet I work in fashion… people look at my clothes and think, he can’t be too bad off. They see the outward appearance and say, he say he’s struggling but it can’t be too bad. They just don’t know.

Anyway, other than that I did just do a project that I’m wrapping up. It should be surfacing on the internet soon so you guys will be able to see the work. After working on it I found that I really and truly take on the tastes of my client when doing work(and yes it was a client so that does involve cash… no matter how little). I mean while doing the project I was very much gungho about it and then afterwards I kinda stood back and was like, “Oh, I did that.” It’s not a bad thing, I just know now that while in the moment I can gauge my client’s reaction probably by mine, if I have a good handle on their aesthetic.

Anywho, that’s enough of that. There’s many other things to do. I’ve become very active on The Fashion Spot. I also have issues of Vogue and Interview I’ve yet to post… oh and I’m still waiting for some people to confirm that I in fact have gotten my hands on every image from the Vogue Paris issue that’s being edited by Tom Ford, and then I’ll blog that as well… My father has come back to fashion!

See the rest of the editorial here

