MOVIE: Marc Jacobs and Louis Vuitton

by Mikelle S

So… I’ve kind of had this documentary forever now. I saw it sometime during the summer when I was trolling YouTube and the blogs for fashion documentaries. I was going to post it but then I had to run, and then when I got back I was supposed to format it correctly, and all of those things and so yeah, Marc Jacobs + Louis Vuitton the documentary is just getting posted. Don’t kill me.

Shot in 2006 the documentary shows the makings of the Louis Vuitton and Marc Jacobs collections for 2007. If I remember correctly(it has been a few months) the film takes place in Paris and New York, and we even get to make a stop in Tokyo as Marc restages a show there. I remember being impressed, and excited that the film was sort of a Marc before the Marc we know now. It’s always good to step behind the curtain and see how a designer does exactly what he does. I actually think I saw this about 2 weeks before the Marc Jacobs Spring/Summer 2011 show.

