EDITORIAL: Le Baron

by Mikelle S

Model: James Smith
Photographer: Leon Mark
Publication: L’Officiel Hommes Germany
Issue: Fall/Winter 2010/2011

I kinda can’t get this editorial out of my head. The reason being that Leon Mark has shot James Smith in the way that fashion should be shot, as art. Of course all these things are objective but since we’re on my blog… it’s fact here. Fashion is an art form, and a form of expression and should be treated as such. Just like art goes through periods(impressionist, post impressionist, modern, abstract expressionist), fashion goes through the same but under a different name: trends(minimalism, militaristic, 20’s, grunge). Just like in art where there’s a gross disparity between the price of a Manet print and a Degas original, there’s a difference between a Dior Couture leather glove and how Ms. Wintour puts it so eloquently, “something basic from K-Mart”. This editorial summons all of the emotion in me that any good work of art would; nostalgia washes over my body, and I’m encompassed by this unclear haze. Injected with just a tad bit of eeryness, I’m immediately pulled in.


Of course you guys now that I want to continue on about the editorial, but I did have another reason(sadly) for bringing it up. I actually had multiple reasons, one small reason and another bigger one. The small reason acutally has to do with the image above in particular. Does it not remind you of the Jean Paul Gaultier Spring/Summer 2011 show? I just love it. As you guys may have noticed, I’m going back and picking up some shows that I missed the first go round. Whether this will expand into all of the shows is undecided yet but I want to do atleast one menswear show a week. Also if you check the galleries, you’ll notice that I’ve begun to ID as many models in the shows as I can. This becomes an obstacle to posting more shows since IDing models correctly is a tedious task…

The second reason, and maybe more important reason I bring up this editorial is I want to get something off my chest. I’m sure everyone has heard of the return to the “real woman” in fashion and some of you have even heard of the imminent return to the “real man.” Now I have no bone to pick with womenswear but whereas at first I anticipated liking this return to the “real man” I’m not so sure I like it any more. I’ve been looking at some editorials coming across my Google Reader depicting some upcoming publications and images from Geil in particular caused me to get riled up. Must I resemble a teddy bear to be considered a real man? I must have a beared, chest hair, stomach hair, arm hair, and leg hair to be considered a “real man?” Don’t feed me this gimmick.

Menswear used to be about timelessness, and I understood that. Now we are slowly dipping our toes in the water that is riddled with trends, and disposable fashion. I understand disposable and fast fashion. I respect both of those concepts for what they are. What I do not respect is this in between moment. Being facetious and fronting a trend as something that is iconic and classic. Maybe I’m wrong but to say that you’re putting out a “real man” issue of a magazine and have everyone crawling around it resembling a bear, is not in any way in my opinion indicitive of the general male population. Don’t like it?? Click on another post.

See the rest of the editorial in the galleries.
Model: James Smith
Photographer: Leon Mark
Stylists: Alex and Anton
Publication: L’Officiel Hommes Germany
Issue: Fall/Winter 2010/2011
