An Ode to Womenswear

by Mikelle S

An Accent on Red Editorial
Models: Bonnie Chen, Danni Li, Jana Knauerova, Lisanne de Jong
Photographer: Serge LeBlon
Publication: Vogue China September 2010

I’ve begun to realize that my coverage is spotty and incomplete. The norm here is, during Fashion Months I cover the shows. Normally I stick to mostly womenswear during the main shows, and then I do menswear for the menswear weeks. Then, throughout the year I normally cover alot of menswear editorials, and since I’ve been doing the Model Spotlight, it seems that I’m covering alot of male models. It’s kind of weird though because I got into fashion because of womenswear. It just so happens that within the last few years, menswear has made leaps and bounds, and I’ve found the developments interesting enough to cover them. The development of the male model, and the male editorial.. the now variety of aesthetics that the man has to choose from, were and are all of interest to me. The variation of the male silhouette is something, while not being majorly reworked, is being tweaked. There is so much farther to go though.

But in saying that, I do plan on making an effort to cover womenswear as well. I mean, I have so much to say about womenswear. While I can be found online discussing the experimentation of the Raf Simmons menswear collection, or greatness that is Lanvin menswear, when you see me on the street and I’m talking fashion, it’s more than likely about why Kim Kardashian shouldn’t be on the cover of W, or what my opinion is on the latest editorials for Interview, Elle, and Vogue. We are talking about the romance in the pieces that Stefano Pilatti sent down the runway at the latest Yves Saint Laurent show, or the joy that was embedded into every piece in the oh so 70s collection that was Marc Jacobs.

So here’s to my ladies, and the lovers of the clothes they wear. I’m going to make an effort to make my opinion of womenswear stray further than just my Twitter page, and find it’s way up onto the blog.







Models: Bonnie Chen, Danni Li, Jana Knauerova, Lisanne de Jong
Photographer: Serge LeBlon
Stylist: Nicoletta Santoro
Publication: Vogue China September 2010
