The Monster that is September

by Mikelle S

Happy Birthday Beyonce!!
Yes, it is Beyonce’s birthday today! There’s no way that I could let the day go by without wishing Momma Bey a happy birthday. After being in the game for 15 years, she’s still SLAYING, and she’s in the studio now, at 29 undoubtedly laying down tracks that are about to slice and DICE the scene. I mean if you can work in the studio for two weeks and come out with an album like B-Day… you know that you are a Diva! So, today I will be putting my iTunes on repeat for every Beyonce track that I have even though I just made my official September playlist.

See my September playlist as well as upcoming things in the month of September.
http://beemp3.com/player/player.swfSong: “Monster” by Kanye West feat Jay-Z, Rick Ros, Bon Iver, and Nicki Minaj
Nicki’s verse at 3:30… DESTROYS the entire industry!

So yesterday I went and made my September playlist. I like to think I listen to an eclectic mix of different artists. I mean we go from Alja, to Beyonce, then to Kanye West, followed by Keys and Nicki Minaj. Finish me off with some Christina, Ke$ha and some MGMT and I’m good. I mean I won’t say that I have the biggest iTunes library, because I don’t by far, with only 800+ songs, but I do have an eclectic mix. I mean Alja Jackson and her ghetto pop is pretty darn good. Her mixtapes are more good than bad, although there are a few tracks that are misses. I also have a bag of CDs and mixtapes I’ve yet to review like Mayer Hawthorne. I saw him in concert last spring break when I went to New Orleans… and have yet to blog about it. Go me for quick and responsive blogging!! Things I look forward to this month in music include a single from Queen Bey. November really is looking like it will be the month for the music calendar.
But for the fashion calendar… dahling “September is the JAHNUARY of fashion!!” My magazines are GIGANTIC. With copies of Vogue, Vanity Fair, Harper’s Bazaar, and W, there is no way that I can fashionably carry them all around at the same time(by the way I’m still waiting on Interview and Elle :/ ). My old leather case would undoutedly be too thin. In addition to these SUPERB covers and their accompanying magazines, there are precastings, castings, and more importantly… SHOOOWWWS! New York Fashion Week happens THURSDAY! Ugh I am about to be under alot of pressure but I think I’ve found a way to minimize said pressures. Anywho in the picture above you can see how some agencies are utilizing new technology: IMG models use an iPad instead of a book for their portfolios.

Model: Alim

Shows starting up, with castings and the like mean something else… SHOWPACKAGES!!! EEEK! Well there’s been many that I’ve wanted to blog about but I haven’t been able to find the time. I did post one in the 803 Galleries though, the VNY Men’s showpackage, and Alim has to be one of my favorite models. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s the facial expression… probably the eyebrows, but whatever the reason, he’s definitely one of my favorite models from the entire package. And actually I loved the package as a whole and the style of it, it was fun, simple, and clean. Lovely. Check the gallery later on though because as I get more time, I may be updating more and more 🙂


P.S. Jessica Alba wore the Valentino Couture that I wanted Hedi Klum to wear… and it looks really sad to me on her… it looks oh so sad and tired.

This is my response:

