Lola Maxwell’s Basik Edukation

by Mikelle S


So some of you may remember Lola Maxwell from the interview we conducted with her before. Well, Lola released a press release today stating that she would be dropping her newest mixtape entitled “Basik Edukation:The Mixtape”.

Get more coverage below the clip
The project is her sixth studio compilation and will be hosted by MATunes.net and Datpiff.com. Projects she’s done before include Studio 1206, Check the Rhyme,and From the Planet of the Greats and these are all available on Datpiff here

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=9132243&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1

Lola Maxwell – “Basik Edukation” mxtp promo from Lola Maxwell on Vimeo.

Based in D.C. she says that Basik Edukation:

“It just fits my writing and production style. Back to the basis of when hip hop was all about lyricism and storytelling, no gimmicks. I completed it 2 weeks prior to the release date and I worked with the following producers: Banquo, Sinitus Tempo, BAM, Majestic Views, and Joe D. It was relatively easy producing this mixtape. The words just flowed right onto the paper as soon as I heard the beats. I could’ve had way more tracks but I didn’t do too much. My concept actually shifted”

She did provide us with a freestyle on Drake’s track “OVER” to hold us over which you can check out here. She says this about the track:

“Lol, Drake’s rapping and delivery will always be his way and mine will always be mine. Of course, I would say I like mine better, though ha-ha. It’s a version of my ideas and music thoughts to the “over” beat, nothing personal.”

Lola will be performing live at “Hard Rock Live” at The Loft DC on 411 Penn Avenue, NE Washington D.C. The show starts at 10pm and it’s 10 dollars at the door. Oh and this would be for the 21 and up crowd.

